Stephen King’s ‘Misery’

Okay, so it’s officially the morning after the night before (the ‘night before’ being the night I decided to start this blog) and I don’t, as I presumed, regret the decision entirely. I still feel up to this. In fact, I really want to do it. 

Image

‘Misery’ is a popular novel by Stephen King, through my reading about a writer who gets pulled out of his smashed-up car by- to put it bluntly – a freak, Annie Wilkes who is obsessed with his ‘Misery’ novels. Except in his last book, Mr Sheldon killed off the main character, the beloved ‘Misery Chastain’.

(I never promised I’d always be politically correct. I’ll try to be, but if that means that I can’t call Annie Wilkes a crazy freak then I simply cannot be so. There’s no other way to describe her.) 

So our dear little Annie, being the flat-out bonkers she is, holds Paul Sheldon against his will and forces him into writing an alternative outcome to the novel on a creepy looking type-writer missing the letter ‘n’ in her guest bedroom. She also has a seemingly endless supply of drugs, so hey, it’s not all bad for our protagonist. 

If I’m honest,this woman actually scared the hell out of me, and it’s all to do with King’s marvelous characterization and the amazing writing. For a horror story it really did its job. I mean, middle-aged women who I’m not familiar with kind of creep me out as it is. Annie Wilkes scares me so much because she is real; I’ve come into contact with women like her (maybe not so crazy). She’s lonely, and obsessed with a character from a fictional universe – aren’t we all? Don’t lie to me. You’ve adored a character like this at some stage. I can totally see something like this happening with the 50 Shades of Grey fans: the countless middle-aged women who miraculously keep that boat sailing. Annie just takes what we all think as readers a step further. It’s kind of like that thing Holden says in Catcher – about wanting to ring the author up on the phone after you’ve finished a book. Annie does more than that –  if she could she’d have him on speed-dial. But she can’t do that because her telephone’s only for show. Inconvenient for detained writers. She can only hold him in her guest bedroom and cut of his limbs if he refuses to do anything.

Though I am thinking of doing this to get faster Sherlock seasons. 

I forgot – I should probably keep this spoiler free.

In short, after reading ‘The Shining’ I wanted another Stephen King fix and I wanted it bad – and Misery gave me everything I expected. In terms of horror, I haven’t read much in the genre but I don’t think I could ask for more than this. I preferred the Shining though; I gobbled it up just that little bit faster. I think it creeped me out more. There’s something about kids though, they can be just that bit more disconcerting than obsessive middle-aged women. 

Thanks for reading, and if you’re looking for horror, or just a good read, I do recommend this novel. 

You’ve probably already read it. If you have, let me know what you thought!

-boredearlysummer

One thought on “Stephen King’s ‘Misery’

  1. Pingback: Big Mac and Fries, or ‘Still Scary’ | ThePageBoy

Leave a Reply

